Sunken Meadow


Release date : 09/15/2014
Label : Self Release (bandcamp)

All tracks written, engineered, produced and mixed by FRACTION.
Mastering by Jonna Wishmere at CleverIsPunk Studio

//Track listing//

1 – The Prophet Part 1 Feat. Jack Kerouac
2 – The Prophet Part 2 Feat. Jack Kerouac
3 – Harp in the sky
4 – Journey of a fevered
5 – Incarnadine
6 – Jumping the river (interlude)
7 – Tale of a fall
8 – Drive me to the steppe
9 – Sunken Meadow


Jack Kerouac reading On the Road, Track 1 & 2
Fraction (Programming, keyboards)

The sunken ensemble is :
Daniel Dalinian (Luth, Harp, Guitar, Cello)  – Kurt Giles (Drums, Percussions) , Ed Kinder (Saxophone, Piano, Flute); Peter Boardman (Sarod), Bryna Rene Haynes (Flute)


Only few months after his last release ‘DROMOS EP’ on INFINE, FRACTION’s coming back with a new daring work featuring a mysterious collective, ‘The Sunken Ensemble’.
Unlike the previous release, Sunken Meadow staged a post-hippy psychedelic journey made of free form experimentations, lost and found instruments and unexpected meets, as it can be heard on The Prophet part 1 & 2, where Jack Kerouac reads ‘On the Road’ alongside custom timbral instrument (Part1) and elegant luth (Part 2). As Fraction himself presents the release, Sunken Meadow should rather be considered as a one week story soundtrack that’d rock the nights on a quiet beach. In Incarnadine, the quiet is however suddenly surrounded by tension and anger, a free jazz build up that would later drive to the eponymous and last track, a eight minute spooky trip that un-shamefully reminds some of the Alice Coltrane or McCoy Tyner pieces.
Whereas DROMOS EP featured highly modern Audiovisual work, in this new release, Fraction will make you travel through the 60’s, maybe with a 2014’s modern spaceship, looking for a place to watch the stars at a Fall sky.
Once again, with a very personal production sense, a permanent search of originality, FRACTION keeps on imprinting a territory where nobody goes.Sunken meadow tells the story of a shelter surrounded by natural forces. It tells the story of new junctions between adventurous musicians. It tells the story of hazardous journey inside a wilderness territory. No boundaries, just imagination.